Madeleine L’Engle

Madeleine l’Engle


Madeleine L’Engle ( 1918–2007; née Camp) is an American writer  known for young-adult fiction, particularly  A Wrinkle in Time and its sequels: A Wind in the Door,   A Swiftly Tilting Planet, Many Waters, and An Acceptable Time. Her works reflect both her Christian faith and her strong interest in modern science.

Madeleine wrote her first story at age five and began keeping a journal at age eight.  A shy, clumsy child, she was branded as stupid by some of her teachers. Unable to please them, she retreated into her own world of books and writing.  None of Madeleine’s writing attempts came to any reward. She was determined to give up writing on her 40th birthday ( 1958) when she received yet another rejection notice. She discovered that she could not give it up.

A Wrinkle in Time, which she completed by 1960 was rejected more than thirty times before  it was finally published by Farrar, Straus & Giroux in 1962. Madeleine won the Newbery Medal and the National Book Award among many others through the years.

Madeleine l’Engle believed in universal salvation, writing that “All will be redeemed in God’s fullness of time, all, not just the small portion of the population who have been given the grace to know and accept Christ.  As a result  many Christian bookstores refused to carry her books, which were also frequently banned from Christian schools and libraries. However, some of her most secular critics attacked her work for being too religious.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s